Skip to sections. Skip to content.


UCLA Graduate Division

Chancellor's Award for Postdoctoral Research

This award will provide a prize of $5,000 each to especially accomplished UCLA postdoctoral scholars recognized for their outstanding research. This prize was established in 1998 to recognize the important contributions that postdoctoral scholars make to UCLA's research mission. Up six awards will be made.

The procedures for nominating a postdoctoral scholar for this prize are outlined here. All faculty are encouraged to participate in the nominating process. A dossier comprised of the nominating cover letter from the faculty mentor; approval by the chair; the postdoctoral scholar's curriculum vitae; abstract; up to two supporting letters of recommendation; nomination cover sheet; a recent photo of the nominee and, additional explanatory materials are required for nomination.

As discussed in the guidelines, chairs and unit directors are encouraged to establish a point person(s) in each department to coordinate the collection of nomination materials. Chairs will be responsible for pre-screening the nominations to ensure that no more than two nominations are submitted to the final selection committee. Large departments that have compelling reasons for submitting more than two nominations may contact the Graduate Division to discuss additional nominations. The deadline for departments to submit nomination materials to the Graduate Division is 5:00 pm Thursday, April 10, 2014.

All nominees, including the winners, of the Chancellor's Award for Postdoctoral Research will be notified in advance of the event and all will be honored at the UCLA Postdoctoral Research Awards Ceremony on May 8, 2014 at the California NanoSystems Institute. This event will bring together postdoctoral scholars and faculty research mentors from a variety of academic areas to honor the contributions of our postdoctoral researchers.

If you have any questions about the nominating process, please contact Paris McDonald in the Office of the Vice Provost and Dean at

  Get Adobe PDF Reader get Adobe PDF Reader