calendar of events

search careerhub

Nov
1
Wed
Online Workshop: Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan
Nov 1 @ 11:00 am – 1:00 pm

In this workshop, you will create a robust IDP draft and an action plan to facilitate conversations with your advisor or supervisor about career goals, current and desired skills, and professional development opportunities. We will discuss how to define achievable goals, identify resources, and develop strategies for implementing and sustaining your plans. You’ll start by considering your current skills and career aspirations. Then, along with your peers, you will consider key features of effective plans. You will begin to create a personalized plan that takes into account career interests and addresses the resources needed for the development of knowledge and skills. In addition, you will begin writing goals that are achievable and meaningful. IDPs are most effective when shared. Workshop participants will develop a plan for talking with their mentor.

 

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has one online session, which participants are required to attend. The session will take place Wednesday, November 1. Exact times are TBD; the workshop is tentatively scheduled for 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT.

 

Workload

Participants will be asked to complete a self-assessment and participate in online discussion boards.

 

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 9 through Monday, October 23. The workshop is limited to 75 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

 

For More Information and Registration: https://www.cirtl.net/events/285